Gooey Butter Cake (Seriously addicting!!!)

If I had to choose one dessert to eat for the rest of my life, it would be Gooey Butter Cake! You can’t go wrong with it!! Growing up we always had it in the house. It was always store bought, and I never would’ve given that a second thought. Then one day, about a year ago I stumbled across the most perfect recipe for it, and that is what I will be sharing with you today. The store bought Gooey Butter Cakes have NOTHING on the homemade version. Seriously, the first time I made it, it was gone the next day. And then I made it again. For about a week straight. LOL. That’s so bad, but it is THAT good! I don’t regret my decision what so ever.

Ingredients:

1 Box Yellow Cake Mix

3 Eggs

1 8 oz. Cream Cheese, softened

1 Stick of butter, melted

2 Cups Powdered Sugar (I only use 1 cup… It leaves it more gooey, which is the whole point anyway. I find that using 2 cups kind of dries it out, and the texture is too cake like for me.)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Combine the cake mix, 1 egg, and melted butter to make the crust. Press into the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan. Mix together the softened cream cheese, powdered sugar, and the remaining 2 eggs until smooth. Get as many of the lumps out as you can. (Most people use a mixer for these steps, but I prefer mixing by hand, so it takes a little longer, but it always turns out just as good.) Pour the mixture over the crust, and bake for about 35-40 minutes. Sprinkle powdered sugar over finished product.

I’m not lying to you when I say that it tastes like heaven!

20140918_231758 IMG_20151109_115353

4 thoughts on “Gooey Butter Cake (Seriously addicting!!!)”

Leave a comment